Spain Conquered Tour De France as Contador Declared Champion

The Spaniards ruled Tour De France for four years already. It started when Pereiro got it in 2006, Contador in 2007, Saster in 2008, Contador made it last year and another one this year. Because of historic win, Contador became the fifth racer in history, and the first Spaniard, to win all three Grand Tours of road cycling.

He has been referred to as the best climbing specialist and stage racer in the world. Mark Cavendish won the final stage of cycling’s premier event. The seven time winner Lance Armstrong finished more than 39 minutes behind Contador, his teammate at Astana last year, after suffering from crashes early on in the grueling 21-stage race.

Last July 19 in the stage 19 time trial, Contador beat Andy Schleck’s time by 31 seconds, it is also the amount of time he had in deficit to Schleck prior to stage 15. He became the seventh rider to win a Tour de France without winning a stage.

The climber’s title went to Anthony Chartreau of France while the declared top young rider was Andy Schleck of Saxo Bank.